Anwar to be sworn in as PD MP on Monday

KUALA LUMPUR: The second meeting of the first term of the 14th Parliament sitting on Monday will start with the swearing in of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as Port Dickson Member of Parliament.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusoff confirmed the matter when contacted by NSTP this evening.

The Pakatan Harapan candidate won the Port Dickson by-election tonight with a 23,560 vote majority over Pas candidate Lt Col (Rtd) Mohd Nazari Mokhtar.

He polled 31,106 votes while Nazari came in second with 7,456 votes.

All the independent candidates lost their deposits including Port Dickson native and former Negri Sembilan menteri besar Tan Sri Isa Samad. He polled 4,230 votes.

Co independents Stevie Chan polled 337 votes followed by Lau Seck Yan 214 votes, Kan Chee Yuen 154 votes and in the last place is Anwar’s former aide, Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan who received only 82 votes.

A total of 43,489 votes were cast in the by election.

The Election Commission (EC) announced a turnout of 58.25 per cent.

Source: NST Online