Conference of rulers meet, Sultan Nazrin more than likely new Agong

A well placed source indicates that Sultan Nazrin Muizzudin Shah, who is already by default the effective Yang di-Pertuan Agong, is more than likely to be named Sultan Muhammad V’s successor.

KUALA LUMPUR: State monarchs held a meeting at the Istana Negara here, today.

The Conference of Rulers had convened to choose a date for the election of a new Yang di-Pertuan Agong after Sultan Muhammad V unexpectedly resigned on Sunday.

Only six of the nine Sultans were present at the meeting. They were Perlis ruler Tuanku Syed Sirajudin Syed Putra Jamalullail; Terengganu ruler Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin; Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir; Sultan of Johor Sultan Ibrahim Iskandar; Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzudin Shah; and Sultan of Kedah Sultan Sallehuddin Shah.

Sultan Muhammad V was elected by the Conference of Rulers as King on Dec 13, 2016. His tenure was scheduled to end in 2021.

Until the Conference of Rulers decides on the next Agong, Sultan Nazrin, who is the Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, will likely serve as acting king.

Unique system

Malaysia’s unique constitutional monarchy system requires that the Agong be elected by the heads of the nine royal houses who rule their own states.

As the Kelantan ruler’s resignation is unprecedented, the Conference of Rulers are now compelled to hold an unscheduled election within four weeks (based on requirements dictated by the office of the Keeper of the Royal Seal).

The Agong will be elected for a five-year term according to guidelines set out in the Federal Constitution and the regulations of the conference.

Each head of the nine houses is given a term as Agong according to seniority – that is, the length of reign in their respective states – and subsequently, a rotational system that continued the same order was the accepted convention.

Source: NST Online


Raggie Jessy Rithaudeen on Twitter

Raggie Jessy Rithaudeen on Facebook

TowardsGE15 on Facebook

Gagasan Tiga (G3) on Facebook

The Third Force (Telegram)