Six relief centres opened at flood hit areas in Kedah

ALOR SETAR: Six relief centres in three districts in Kedah have been opened since 10 pm tonight to accommodate 415 evacuees from 106 families who were evacuated due to the flash floods.

The evacuation centres are two each in the Kuala Muda, Langkawi and Bandar Baharu district.

The State Disaster Management Committee Secretariat, in a statement tonight, said the evacuation centres in Kuala Muda are at Dewan Kampung Tengah and Surau Kampung Tengah, with 14 dan 200 evacuees, respectively.

In Bandar Baharu, there are at Dewan Kampung Majidee, with 10 evacuees, and Sekolah Kebangsaan Bandar Baharu (74 evacuees).

In Langkawi, 10 evacuees are at Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Kedawang and 35 others at Dewan Kampung Raja.

Source: Bernama